Outdoor provisions / product guideProtein Bars

PROBAR

PROBAR MEAL Oatmeal Chocolate Chip

Plant-based meal replacement bar

This entry covers the specifically named PROBAR MEAL Oatmeal Chocolate Chip bar, listed by PROBAR as a 3 oz bar in a 12-pack. Its flavor-specific ingredient list names cashew butter and cashews; this is not a description of the wider MEAL range.

This product’s Visit link goes to the official site; no affiliate URL is configured for it. How links work. Product facts are not a tasting or field-test verdict.

Before you pack

The details that matter

Information is specific to the recorded product or flavor. An unverified field is not a claim that it is absent.

Flavor or product scope
PROBAR MEAL Oatmeal Chocolate Chip only; not the full MEAL range.
Ingredient summary
The flavor page lists: Oats, Tapioca Syrup, Cashew Butter (Cashews), Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chip (Cane Sugar, Unsweetened Chocolate, Cocoa Butter), Cashews, Dates, Sunflower Seeds, Flax Seeds, Brown Rice Crisp, Brown Rice Syrup, Molasses, Tapioca Starch, Vegetable Glycerin, Pumpkin Seeds, Sea Salt, Natural Flavor, Cinnamon.
Allergen scope
The flavor page states 'Contains: Cashews.' PROBAR's FAQ says products are made on shared equipment and describes cleaning and residue testing intended to prevent cross-contamination. No specific advisory statement for other allergens was established for this flavor in the pages reviewed.
Serving scope
The flavor product page lists a 3 oz bar in a 12-pack. The MEAL collection says two servings per bar at range level; a flavor-specific Nutrition Facts panel or nutrient amounts were not verified, so none are stated here.
Storage & preparation
PROBAR's FAQ gives MEAL products a 12-month shelf life but does not specify storage conditions or opened-wrapper handling. No preparation instructions were located on the flavor page or FAQ. A ready-to-eat use is an inference from the bar format, not a quoted manufacturer preparation direction; follow the current wrapper.
Availability
Manufacturer listing found when checked; this does not establish current stock.

No dated ingredient or label-change notice was found in the reviewed official pages. The flavor page's generic promotional paragraph mentions peanut butter and dark chocolate chips, while its specific ingredient list names cashew butter and semisweet chocolate chips. This internal inconsistency is not evidence of a historical recipe change; use the current flavor wrapper to resolve any discrepancy.

Check the current package for ingredients, allergen and cross-contact statements, serving size, and storage instructions. Dietary tags are not an allergy-safety guarantee.

Planning around your trip and dietary needs? Try the trip & dietary finder → Its suggestions are a starting point, not an allergy-safety verdict.

From the official sources

Listed features

Claims about a named flavor or format should not be assumed to cover the whole range.

  • PROBAR's current MEAL collection lists Oatmeal Chocolate Chip in a 3 oz bar, 12-pack format.
  • The flavor-specific ingredient list includes oats, cashew butter, semisweet chocolate chips, seeds, dates, brown-rice ingredients, and cinnamon.
  • The official FAQ describes all PROBAR products as vegan and GFCO-certified gluten-free; it also says products are made on shared equipment.
  • The FAQ gives MEAL products a 12-month shelf life; it does not specify storage conditions.

What the facts offer

Useful qualities

  • A named flavor and 12-pack format make this listing more specific than a brand-wide MEAL range entry.
  • The manufacturer provides an ordered, flavor-specific ingredient list and an explicit cashew declaration.

Check the tradeoffs

Things to consider

  • Contains cashews, and PROBAR says products are made on shared equipment.
  • The product page's generic promotional paragraph mentions peanut butter and dark chocolate chips, unlike the flavor-specific ingredient list, which names cashew butter and semisweet chocolate chips. The discrepancy makes the paragraph a poor basis for describing this flavor.

Label first

Dietary notes

VeganGluten-free

PROBAR's FAQ says all its products are vegan and certified gluten-free by GFCO. That company-wide statement applies to this listed flavor, but the FAQ also says products are made on shared equipment; its sanitation program includes cleaning and residue testing to prevent cross-contamination. The product page explicitly declares Contains: Cashews. Check the current wrapper and contact PROBAR for individual allergen questions; these tags are not an allergy-safety determination.

On the trail

Packing & preparation

The official product page lists a 3 oz bar sold as a 12-pack. PROBAR's FAQ states a 12-month shelf life for MEAL products, but does not give storage temperature or opened-package directions. The packaged bar format suggests no preparation is needed; this is an inference because no preparation instructions were found in the reviewed product page or FAQ. Follow the current wrapper directions.

The paper trail

Sources & verification

Source information checked:

Published facts, not hands-on testing or a rating. Product details and labels can change after the checked date.

  • Plant-Based Meal Replacement Bar – Oatmeal Chocolate Chip | PROBAR (opens a new tab)

    Supports: Identifies Oatmeal Chocolate Chip as a MEAL product and lists a 3 oz bar/12-pack format, its ordered flavor-specific ingredients, and 'Contains: Cashews.' The page also contains promotional prose mentioning peanut butter and dark chocolate chips, which conflicts with the flavor-specific ingredient list.

    https://theprobar.com/products/oatmeal-chocolate-chip-meal-replacement-bar
  • Frequently Asked Questions | PROBAR (opens a new tab)

    Supports: States that all PROBAR products are vegan and certified gluten-free by GFCO; describes shared-equipment production and cleaning/residue-testing sanitation; gives MEAL a 12-month shelf life; and characterizes MEAL bars as a substantial snack when a meal is missed. It does not state a specific storage temperature or preparation routine.

    https://theprobar.com/pages/faq
  • MEAL On-The-Go Bars | PROBAR (opens a new tab)

    Supports: Currently lists Plant-Based Meal Replacement Bar – Oatmeal Chocolate Chip as a 3 oz bar/12-pack. The collection-level copy describes MEAL bars as plant-based and says two servings per bar; that serving statement is not a flavor-specific Nutrition Facts panel.

    https://theprobar.com/collections/meal-bar

More to explore

Other formats to consider

View category →

Same-category alternatives, shown alphabetically. Inclusion is not a recommendation or a claim of equivalent ingredients.